Brakes Wheels 1st Gen Tires Brand difference?

Discussion in '1st Generation: 2002–06 R50, R53 & 2004–08 R52' started by Naughty_Dog, Jul 30, 2013.

1. Naughty_Dog

Naughty_Dog New Member

Jul 20, 2013
    San Francisco, CA
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    First and foremost, I am pretty new to learning the ins and outs of car repair and matinence, so help a mate out. After looking at two big brake kits from Wilwood and Brembo, I noticed that the Brembo kit costed a lump sum more. Is there any major performance/quality/design difference that makes brembo brakes more effective than Wilwood? For someone who wants to Auto-X, what is your recommendation?

Cheers.

2. Dave.0

Dave.0 Helix & RMW Powered
    Lifetime Supporter

May 4, 2009
    Burbs of Philly, PA
    Ratings:
    +14,644 / 10 / -4
    Neither of the ones above because most of the cost is the name.

Loose some of the weight from those HUGE calibers and get a set of "the brakeman" brakes.
    They also make the RMW brake kits.

The Brake Man - Home

3. Naughty_Dog

Naughty_Dog New Member

Jul 20, 2013
    San Francisco, CA
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    Right on, that makes sense. Thanks.

4. Dave.0

Dave.0 Helix & RMW Powered
    Lifetime Supporter

May 4, 2009
    Burbs of Philly, PA
    Ratings:
    +14,644 / 10 / -4
    I think cct1 has had almost every big brake kit on his car and he like these.

May he will chime in on this thread.

5. beaner

beaner New Member

May 5, 2009
    Ratings:
    +44 / 0 / -0
    I would also recommend calling Todd at TCE. he has many options available for MINI's. I had one of his BBK's on my street car and currently run one on my race car. He live brakes and can get you what you need.

6. cct1

cct1 Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Supporter

May 5, 2009
    Ratings:
    +3,369 / 0 / -0
    Todd is great guy, I had one of the Wilwood kits.