Brakes Wheels 1st Gen Tires Soft pedal?

Discussion in '1st Generation: 2002–06 R50, R53 & 2004–08 R52' started by mrntd, Apr 3, 2014.

Tags:
  1. mrntd

mrntd Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

Sep 30, 2011
    Male
    Sales and Marketing manager
    Hilliard, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +1,763 / 0 / -0
    I replaced the fluid last year with ATE blue and bled them through. But the pedal still feels soft. The brakes work fine. It's just once I feel the brakes bite well there is still a good deal of movement left.

My experience with air in the line is that once the pedal is down and you pump it it firms up. I don't have any of that. Most folks say they don't feel any difference with stainless line on the MINI.

I'm looking for thoughts and ideas.

Thanks

2. DneprDave

DneprDave Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

Oct 23, 2010
    Engineer
    Pacific NW
    Ratings:
    +1,720 / 0 / -0
    I have no experience with ATE blue, but I have some with silicone brake fluid.

Silicone bake fluid (DOT 5) is slightly compressible and causes a soft feel to the brake pedal. It shouldn't be used in ABS brake systems.

Is ATE blue, DOT 5?

3. Nathan

Nathan Founder

Mar 30, 2009
    Writer
    Short North
    Ratings:
    +10,069 / 0 / -0
    ATE Blue is DOT 4

It's the same as the fluid MINI/BMW uses but is colored Blue.

4. ScottinBend

ScottinBend Space Cowboy
    Supporting Member

May 4, 2009
    Bend, OR USA
    Ratings:
    +2,678 / 1 / -0
    With air in the lines it will never feel firm.

5. Crashton

Crashton Club Coordinator

Jun 4, 2009
    Retired old fart
    Hooterville Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +11,656 / 2 / -0
    I didn't feel a difference when Chad put the SS brake lines on my MINI. I know they are better than the oem lines. Changing them out isn't going to solve this problem.

Are your rear pads indexed into the piston correctly. I have seen that cause a similar problem.

6. mrntd

mrntd Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

Sep 30, 2011
    Male