2nd Gen R56 Cooper S Questions Regarding New 2013 Mini S

Discussion in '2nd Generation: 2007+ R55 through R61' started by hetrida, Oct 8, 2012.

1. hetrida

hetrida New Member

Aug 24, 2012
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the Mini Cooper (will be moving from Los Angeles to Fairfax, VA in late October/Very Early November and taking delivery of a new 2013 Mini S from Mini of Sterling (VA) as soon as I get to Virginia. Accordingly I'm also brand new to the Motoring Alliance.

Several Questions:

(1) Does anyone have suggestions for changing the oem springs to aftermarket springs to lower the car approximately "1" (this change to improve both handling and the overall appearance). Any suggestions on a specific make of spring? I do not plan to race or autocross the car.

(2) Does it make sense to add aftermarket anti roll (i.e. "sway") bars with the springs? I would like to improve the anti roll/stability of the car without changing the shocks. I'm assuming the stock shocks would work with after market springs and maybe any suggested anti roll bars.

(3) Would adding aftermarket springs and anti sway bars compromise the oem warranty? I've looked at "warranty" information on Edmunds.com and it looks like aftermarket suspension components would only void a warranty item if it can be shown that the aftermarket component caused a warranted part to fail. But I would like to get input from anyone who has dealt with a related issue.

4) Are the JCW dual exhaust tips available from either mini dealers or the aftermarket? If not, does anyone have a suggestion for dual exhaust tips to replace the oem tips? (I love the looks of the JCW tips).

5) Does anyone have a suggestion for adding Sirrius Radio to the car? I made a mistake in the ordering process and didn't add Sirrius Radio to the