Mud Flaps for '05-'06 MINIs!

Discussion in 'Car Builds, Projects, Idea's Experiments' started by panaphobic, Feb 7, 2012.

1. panaphobic

panaphobic Club Coordinator

Jul 19, 2010
    Customer Support
    Tewksbury, MA
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    As all the '05-'06 MINI owners know, there are no rear mud flaps available for your MINI. So I'm thinking about taking some time and trying to make something work. I know how to use and make fiberglass items so I was thinking about trying to fashion a set out of fiberglass and testing it. I would ultimately like a plastic set but I'm not experienced in plastic molding or anything. Anyone out there know how to I could go about making a set in plastic once I have a set of fiberglass ones made up that work? And once I have a set made up, who would be interested in them if the price is right?

2. ScottinBend

ScottinBend Space Cowboy
    Supporting Member

May 4, 2009
    Bend, OR USA
    Ratings:
    +2,678 / 1 / -0
    Might want to get a hold of the Cooper rear mud flaps and work from there. They will work, but they need a bit of modding as they incorporate part of the black fender in them.
    The lack of rear flaps affect all Gen 1 S's.

3. panaphobic

Jul 19, 2010
    Customer Support
    Tewksbury, MA
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Wow that's really weird. I remember a few years ago I was investigating it and minicarparts.net actually had them for the 02-04 MINIs, but no where had 05-06 ones. Now they don't even show up on the website anymore. I know I saw them there because I I was pretty annoyed with the fact that they "forgot" about the 05-06 MINIs. Now they are no where to be found as well. I know I still have an old minicarparts.net catalog floating around somewhere. I'll have to check it out to see if I'm losing my mind or not lol. As for buying a set and making them work, I thought of that but I'm going to try and make something from scratch. Design it to work properly and fit perfect.

4. rkw