Make:
MINI
Model Year:
Body style:
Chassis Code:
General Color:
  • History:
    My MINI story.

My story begins in the year 1999 (Age 13), the French teacher at my high school drive a bright yellow classic Mini to school almost everyday. The moment I saw it, I wanted one... someday.

2001 (Age 15) - MINIs were available in the US! I started seeing them around and my obsession was in full force. I didn't even have a driver's permit yet and I was configuring new MINIs on the website several times a year. I wanted Electric Blue.

I lost interest towards the middle of high school. I was busy and I didn't even have a driver's license yet. My MINI days seemed far away.

2005 (Age 19) - I graduated high school, got a job and finally got my driver's license. My parents gave me my mom's 1993 pearl green Honda Civic to drive, but I wanted a MINI. I began configuring them on the website again - now they came in purple! Purple Haze with white stripes is what I wanted... but I was stuck in a dull barely-green Civic with college to pay for.

The next year Purple Haze was discontinued. :(

As time went on I had my eye set on Laser Blue with white stripes. By then the car had a name, Mindy.

2008 (Age 22) - We went to the Pittsburgh Auto Show, as we usually do - My dad is a mechanic so I've always been a car-girl. I spent about an hour sitting in a MINI playing with the controls.

2009 (Age 23) - I graduated college. But couldn't quite afford a MINI yet. But I talked about Mindy constantly, as if I was picking her up tomorrow. I got a grown-up job that fall, complete with a 35 mile each-way commute. My '93 Civic just wasn't cut out for 70 miles of high-way speeds 5 days a week so I needed a 'new' car. A MINI was still in my mind. But now Mindy had turned from Laser Blue to Oxygen Blue - I didn't need an S. I saw an Oxygen Blue in person and loved it, such a unique color. I decided I'd buy a winter car, a 2001 civic, and save up to buy my MINI in the summer.