Tailgating

Discussion in 'MINI' started by Rastoff, Jul 27, 2016.

1. Rastoff

Rastoff New Member

Jul 13, 2016
    So Cal (Near Edwards AFB)
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I'm a relatively new Mini owner so, I'm still learning some of the uniqueness that is Mini. One thing that I've seen in these short two weeks is how many people tailgate me.

I live in CA and tailgating is not uncommon. The "proper" safe following distance is 2 seconds. That is rarely followed here. It's usually more like .5 seconds. However, when I say tailgating, I can't even see the headlights of the car behind me. I mean, they're so close I can count their teeth in my rear view mirror. :eek6:

This is happening regularly. I've had at least one of these people trying to climb in my trunk every day. Am I alone in this or is it a common phenomena due to the Mini's size?

2. Dave.0

Dave.0 Helix & RMW Powered
    Lifetime Supporter

May 4, 2009
    Burbs of Philly, PA
    Ratings:
    +14,644 / 10 / -4
    No that's a Cali thing.

3. Rainman768

Rainman768 Active Member

May 3, 2012
    Ratings:
    +96 / 0 / -0
    I noticed the same thing when I first got the hardtop. But after a while I marked it down to perception. With our Accord and Civic (sedans) there was about two feet or more of trunk beyond the rear window. Whereas with the MINI there's only a few inches beyond the rear window. So vehicles appeared to be "farther" away when in the sedans and "closer" in the MINI.

4. Friskie

Friskie Well-Known Member

Jul 20, 2009
    Highly motivated retiree
    In the here and now, for now.
    Ratings:
    +1,339 / 0 / -0
    Maybe this bumper sticker will help.

Attached Files:

5. MCS02

MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2009
    Male
    Ratings:
    +7,876 / 10 / -3