Thinking of buying a Mini

Discussion in 'Starting Line - New Member Introductions' started by BishopX, May 19, 2015.

1. BishopX

BishopX New Member

May 19, 2015
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Hi all,

I'm Paul and I'm thinking of buying a new Mini as my daily driver. I've been driving a Tahoe for the last 13 years and want something smaller and sportier, but not a traditional mid life crisis sports car.

I've got my eye on a 2 door Cooper S, but I was wondering if you had any tips or suggestions on what I should look out for?

Thanks!

2. M1N1

M1N1 Well-Known Member

Jan 5, 2014
    Tool and Die Maker
    NW Ohio
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to M/A. '05 or '06 R53 is the way to go. I have an '06 R50 (justa Cooper), but am also watching for an R53 MCS, hopefully in the same colour combo as my Justa.

3. Zapski

Zapski Well-Known Member

May 4, 2011
    Columbus, OH
    Ratings:
    +938 / 0 / -0
    Hi Paul, I'm also Paul. Welcome!

I also drive a 2008 MINI Cooper S as my daily, so here's a few basic things to know.

Supercharged vs Turbo - If you're looking to buy a used one, the Supercharged S models are the 2006 and earlier. These are commonly known as R53 around here, and most of the guys here love them.

2007 to 2013 are the second generation ones, and are known as R56. They're turbo. It's what I have. I love mine, but there are some good natured debates with the R53 crowd.

2014+ are the third generation, known as F56, also turbo, but bigger and very different.

There are other models as well, but the big split you're looking at is the 2006 and earlier vs 2007 and later.

4. wmwny

wmwny Well-Known Member

May 29, 2009
    Male
    Retired
    Piqua, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +2,790 / 10 / -0
    Welcome to M/A!

I have 2 R53s and an R50. The R53s are both 2006. Mine is a daily driver, track car and twisty car...it has 105k. Hers is an errand car, mostly driven by her and, consequently, only has about 52k.