R53 auto tranny question

Discussion in 'Starting Line - New Member Introductions' started by Speedman, May 6, 2016.

1. Speedman

Speedman New Member

May 6, 2016
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I have a 2005 MCS with the 6 speed auto trans. I have changed the fluid three. Times and it shifts much better than when I bought it 6 months ago. The trans is doing something weird though. It does not do this often but it has done it three time and it has always been in heavy traffic. It will shift from 3 to 4 gear andget stuck in 3. The shift lever or the paddles will not make it move. If I pull over and turn the car off and back on it is back to normal. I think it is some find of electrical issue. Any ideas or help would be great

2. MCS02

MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2009
    Male
    Ratings:
    +7,874 / 10 / -3
    Welcome to MA!

I am not an auto expert but we do have one here that can help. Have you checked to see if it has any codes?

3. BlimeyCabrio

BlimeyCabrio Oscar Goldman of MINIs
    Lifetime Supporter

May 4, 2009
    Professional Facilitator and Alignment Consultant
    Holly Springs, NC
    Ratings:
    +2,896 / 0 / -0
    Ugh.

In my experience (I had a Auto trans mini of the same generation for 150k miles), when it starts doing stuff like that, the prescription is likely to be a new transmission.

Yes, the transmission is electronically controlled. Yes, there is an electronic control module that could be problematic, external to the transmission (it's located in the driver's side footwell, on the firewall). There are also a couple of speed sensors mounted in the transmission that feed back to this control unit, they could be the culprits. Or you could have a valve body problem. Or the clutches could be failing.

The dealer, and anyone else with the factory scan tool, can see any diagnostics the transmission control unit may be producing. I'd start there, and see if there are any clues.

4. Nathan