One week old Mini owner with Supercharger issues...

Discussion in 'Starting Line - New Member Introductions' started by 2003Mini S, Sep 27, 2016.

1. 2003Mini S

2003Mini S Member

Sep 26, 2016
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Everyone,

I just bought a 2003 Mini Cooper s with 72000 miles... Power steering went out already and luckily dealer had it under recall repairing at no cost. While at dealer, they are telling me the supercharger is NOT WORKING on my car....

I do hear a bearing noise when car is cold....gets less as it warms up....car has plenty of power and pulls hard.... did two trips to Calif (280 miles each way) reached 120 mph with zero effort or issues.....I think supercharger works...but I am not a mechanic.

Few questions.
    1. Is there a way to see if supercharger is working or not?
    2. I know bearing can be noisy but what happens if I continue driving the car?
    3. If supercharger seizes, can it damage to block?
    4. Whats the best place to buy a replacement supercharger?
    5. Would you say Mini's are reliable cars or cars that have lots of issues? .....been getting all kinds of mixed reviews.

Any advise/opinion on this matter it is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Edwin....
    P.S. I LOVE driving the Mini....it is just scary to see the repair and part costs and hate to keep getting deeper and deeper in to it...

2. 2003Mini S

2003Mini S Member

Sep 26, 2016
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I forgot to mention...

1. There are no check engine lights or codes.
    2. Just passed smog inspection.
    3. MPG around city is 24 and 29 hwy....I am heavy on peddle
    4. No smoke or leaks from motor.

3. caseydog

caseydog Well-Known Member

Nov 7, 2012
    Automotive Photographer
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +1,059 / 1 / -0