Stage 1 cooling fan problem

Discussion in 'Starting Line - New Member Introductions' started by MiniAnn, Oct 23, 2016.

1. MiniAnn

MiniAnn New Member

Oct 22, 2016
    Western New York
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello from WNY!

I'm new to the Mini forum and decided to join because I love my Mini but also because of a problem with my Stage 1 cooling fan.

I own a Mini Cooper Convertible "Sidewalk Edition" which I bought brand new in 2008. I'm frustrated for I only have 54k miles on it and I've had to replace the Stage 1 cooling fan twice, the last one only 20k miles ago.

I took it to the closest Mini dealership this past Thursday and was told because the replacement fan was out of warranty (2 year warranty) and I had it replaced 3 years ago, the repair again would not be covered. I was quoted $616 to replace it for a second time.

I realize my Mini is 8 years old but come on, 54K miles and having to replace the cooling fan twice , one at 34k miles and again at 54k miles was not acceptable to me.

After showing dissatisfaction and dissapointment, the service manager contacted his Regional rep and they agreed to replace the fan and only charge me for the labor @ $150.

I was very happy for the financial assistance but concerned that this issue will happen again. So far I've had only brakes, muffler, and minor things to deal with, the usual wear and tear; however, two cooling fan replacements doesn't ring as normal to me.

Has anyone else had this issue?

2. rkw

rkw Well-Known Member

May 7, 2009
    San Francisco
    Ratings:
    +449 / 0 / -0
    #2 rkw, Oct 23, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
    The problem is common (really, a design flaw) but having to replace it again after only 3 years/20K miles seems unusually early.

$616 at the dealer is outrageous. A new replacement fan can be purchased for about $80 and an independent repair shop can do the labor at much lower cost.