Looking at a 2009 convert tomorrow.

Discussion in 'Starting Line - New Member Introductions' started by New2Mini, Mar 24, 2017.

1. New2Mini

New2Mini New Member

Mar 22, 2017
    County
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    #1 New2Mini, Mar 24, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2017
    Hello all I'm new to MA. Found this site while researching mini's from various other sites.

I am excited and nervous because tomorrow I am going to look at a 2009 mini coop base automatic convert with 34k miles. I have researched this car for over a month, took a few on a test drive, and it is calling my NAME!!

I've looked at many posts stating that they are a pain of a car to have. My dad is telling me that they aren't good cars and is urging me NOT to purchase one. I just want a fun car, it will "probably" not be my full time car. (Can't make any promises)

So my wants says GET IT, my needs say you can wait, my brain...well its being super analytical. Hahaha.

Should I be concerned about the low mileage. I looked at bimmer.Com and it shows its 09 with n12 engine? Carfax isn't showing much on the service/oil change side. So that naturally worries me.

Sorry for the long post...any input you can pass along about "to purchase" or "to NOT purchase" would be helpful.

2. Crashton

Crashton Club Coordinator

Jun 4, 2009
    Retired old fart
    Hooterville Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +11,656 / 2 / -0
    The base Cooper engine has proven more reliable that the turbo S engine. Take it to a reputable mechanic & have it looked over before you buy. If you let us know where you live we may be able to point you to a reputable MINI mechanic.

I'd guess the low miles are due to it being a 3rd car that was just a toy. Be aware that you can not ignore maintenance on these cars. Oil changes every 5,000 miles with synthetic oil & OEM filters. I would have the transmission fluid changed if you get it. These are fun cars, but require more upkeep that what you may be used to.

Good luck & welcome to M/A.