2nd Gen R56 Cooper S Air Conditioner

Discussion in '2nd Generation: 2007+ R55 through R61' started by bezoar, Jun 3, 2012.

1. bezoar

bezoar New Member

May 14, 2011
    Physician Assistant in Emergency Medicine
    Campbellsville, KY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I note that the Mini A/C is weak at best. If this IS the way it’s supposed to be, I’ll accept that. If not, what are the inherent problems using those do-it-yourself recharging systems. I assume the port to apply the charging material is that one on the left next to the oil dip stick, NOT the one on the lower right behind the radiator.

2. Jabbles

Jabbles New Member

May 4, 2009
    HVAC service
    Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    AFAIK the AC in the MINI should be able to keep up without issue, you likely have a problem. Check your cabin filter, low airflow is bad for any AC system.
    I am an HVAC tech, while I have no experience with automotive experience directly the theory is the same. I would not advise the repair your own systems. For one it might not be a leak(It is common on cars though) if it isn't a leak adding refrigerant will not help and can damage your compressor. If it is a leak you still don't know how much to add. If you do add refrigerant in a leaking system it will continue to leak, refrigerant does not wear out, if it is leaking the leak should be repaired. They do make the stop leak, but honestly I don't really trust it. The only time I would try the self charge/leakstop is and old car I really don't care much about. Charge it up as best you can with the kit and if it dies so be it.

PS if anyone has any AC/heating issues feel free to PM me, I may not be able to do much but I may be able to help.

3. Firebro17

Firebro17 Dazed, but not Confused
    Lifetime Supporter

Sep 18, 2010
    Retired CAL FIRE Battalion Chief
    The Great Irrigated Desert of Central CA
    Ratings:
    +3,328 / 0 / -0