2nd Gen R56 Cooper S Any tips for a new MCS owner?

Discussion in '2nd Generation: 2007+ R55 through R61' started by feederwise, Nov 22, 2011.

Tags:
  1. feederwise

feederwise New Member

Oct 28, 2011
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi everyone, first post so be gentle!

I live and work in London and wanted a brand new Mini for the occasional commute but mostly for fun driving in the evenings and the weekends. This will be my first new car and I really can't wait.

I went for:-

Mini Cooper S convertible
    Automatic (I've done a lot of driving in America and love autos, plus I wanted those shifter paddles!)
    Midnight black with black roof
    Chilli pack
    Chrome packs interior and exterior
    Heated seats
    And as many of the other extras as I could afford!

I've read about a million reviews and read many posts on this site on many different topics, but since I'm a Mini noob and have never owned a new car, I thought I'd ask everyone for their best tip for breaking in/using a new Mini, because it'll drive me mad if after the first 1200 miles I find out I should have been doing something differently!

I should also say: I haven't taken delivery of it yet, it's expected for delivery Wed next week! I'll be sure to post some pics.

Thanks all

Lee

2. Justa Jim

Justa Jim Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Supporter

May 6, 2009
    Ratings:
    +1,685 / 0 / -0
    Welcome aboard.

Jim

3. Redbeard

Redbeard JCW: because fast is fun!
    Supporting Member

Dec 17, 2009
    Glorified spreadsheet jockey.
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +413 / 0 / -0
    Best advice? Enjoy and service regularly. :D

4. Steve

Steve Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator

Apr 23, 2009
    Maryland, USA
    Ratings:
    +3,166 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to the site Lee!

Looks like you're concerned about the break-in period. Specifically, breaking in a new S with an automatic transmission. Some say ignore the break-in and just have fun but I'm with you, esp. with that auto.