2nd Gen R57 Convertible Factory Alarm vs Aftermarket

Discussion in '2nd Generation: 2007+ R55 through R61' started by Denzien, Sep 24, 2012.

1. Denzien

Denzien New Member

Sep 12, 2012
    Software Developer
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    I'm debating on whether or not I should add the factory alarm to my R57 order...is the factory alarm worthwhile? I've never had an alarm on any of my previous cars so I'm a total noob in that respect.

Thanks!

2. Metalman

Metalman Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Supporter

Sep 29, 2009
    Ex-Owner (Retired) of a custom metal fab company.
    Columbus, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7,916 / 1 / -0
    The factory OEM alarm has ultrasonic sensors built inside the cabin.... What this means is if some jerk decides to break the glass and reach inside, the alarm will activate without the need to open the doors. Of course, there could be an argument that the goods will be long gone as in a "snatch and grab".... But then what alarm would protect against that?

3. Mr. Jim

Mr. Jim Mudshark
    Lifetime Supporter

May 22, 2010
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 0 / -0
    It's probably a lot easier to have the factory one than have some shop hack into the wiring harness. I'd add it to the order.

4. Denzien

Denzien New Member

Sep 12, 2012
    Software Developer
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    OK. I hope my MA isn't too upset that I'll be changing the order again :p (Last time, I swear!)

I'm thinking it's doubly important for the soft top.

5. Denzien

Denzien New Member

Sep 12, 2012
    Software Developer
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    Are there any special or fancy features you get with the factory alarm?

6. Nathan

Nathan Founder

Mar 30, 2009
    Writer
    Short North
    Ratings:
    +10,069 / 0 / -0