Engine Drivetrain 1st Gen Cooper S Graphing software

Discussion in 'Tuning and Performance' started by Putttn, Jul 24, 2010.

1. Putttn

Putttn New Member

May 29, 2010
    Manage small business
    Spokane, Wa
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I'm trying out a new graphing software from ByteTronik that's pretty neat. I'm new to all this datalogging stuff. Pretty neat the way it gathers data and literally posts it to a database and then is downloaded to create a graph of the run. I just insert the little recording device into the OBD port and “record†a run. I then download it to my laptop and play back via the Bytetronik Dataviewer. It records 40+ bits of information 8 times per second to create the spreadsheet and graph. The graph can be manipulated to show different measured items that you may want to view. From what I understand, it will be able to store different “maps†that can be applied. Don’t know if that part of the software is active. I’ve put a couple of runs on my laptop and changed the graph around to show different values. Once I learn more about how all this works I’ll share some more.

2. Nathan

Nathan Founder

Mar 30, 2009
    Writer
    Short North
    Ratings:
    +10,069 / 0 / -0
    I also am on the beta testing team for the ByteTronik Logging and DataViewer. As the MINI is still in the shop I have no data as of yet and have only installed the software along with verifying the drivers for the unit work by viewing the sample log already on the card.

In order to get more frequent data reads from the ECU Jay adds a bit of code to the ECU. I had to send my ECU off to Mynes/ByteTronik to have this added. The turnaround was quite swift with me sending of the ECU via Priority Mail on the 18th. I had the ECU back along with the OBD connector and USB cable back the on Thursday.

The software works fine in Win7 x64.

Included is an OBD port plug in device, USB cable to connect device to PC and a 2GB microSD card.

[​IMG]