1st Gen R53 Cooper S Help a newbie! Over heating issue on a 2004 S

Discussion in '1st Generation: 2002–06 R50, R53 & 2004–08 R52' started by Twofast4u, Jun 5, 2011.

1. Twofast4u

Twofast4u New Member

Jun 4, 2011
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hey forums,

I'm a newbie to minis, bought mine just over a month ago. has some mids, like exhaust, intake, chip, and pulley. My car started to over heat today, so I quickly shut the car off and when I opened the hood, I noticed that the expansion tank for the coolant had stated to slightly leak from the middle, as though it was bubbling. Later when I opened up the cap, there was no coolant to be found. then I filled it up with some coolant that I got from o reilly
    Which they said is used for the mini. its 50/50

My question now is what can I do to fix it? Do I only need to get the expansion tank replaced or is there another reason why it built up the pressure in the first place? Please help!

2. k-huevo

k-huevo Club Coordinator

May 6, 2009
    Pipe Creek, Texas
    Ratings:
    +159 / 0 / -0
    #2 k-huevo, Jun 5, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2011
    If "leak from the middle" means coolant was escaping from the seam on the expansion tank, then the tank should be replaced.

The MINI coolant system is under pressure to reduce the boiling point, so pressure is normal.

If the seam is not leaking, look for signs of fluid escaping around the coolant thermostat housing, if so, replace the housing and thermostat.

Overheating can be caused by a variety of conditions, insufficient coolant, water pump drive failure, air pockets, head gasket breach, etc. Leaks are first on the list of troubleshooting targets.

3. putterfarm

putterfarm New Member

May 18, 2009
    Bum.
    Pittsfield, Pa.
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Some questions: where did you but your MINI from, did they do any work on it, do they know anything about MINIs ?