Intentional speedometer miscalibration?

Discussion in 'MINI' started by Laserboy, Jun 4, 2013.

1. Laserboy

Laserboy New Member

May 25, 2013
    Southern Illinois (St. Louis area)
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    O.K., myth debunking time here: A friend of mine, who is generally very rational and reliable, owns a Mini and learned that I am getting one as well. He sent me a very kind e-mail with several very useful pieces of advice. But one aspect seemed to be worth a followup. Here's a relevant snip from his note:

Sounds like urban legend to me, but the gentleman reporting it is not prone to that sort of thing. Have any of you folks monitored your distance and time closely enough to know how good your calibration is? There's always going to be some error, of course. I don't know how much is just normal machine slop and how much is systematic.

I'm a Physics professor, by trade, so I'm looking forward to making the measurements myself (universities are places where they store people who actually enjoy that kind of thing to keep them from being a hazard to themselves or others). But I'd be interested to hear from others who have already been through the exercise.

It occurs to me that, if the speedometer truly does read high, then so does the odometer. Since odometer reading impacts resale price and insurance value, messing with it would seem to be a federal-law-violation kinda thing. And nobody messes with the feds! :lol:

2. mattkosem

mattkosem New Member

Aug 7, 2012
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    This has been the case in every European car I've owned. Read up on UNECE regulation 39 if you'd like a detailed explanation.

--Matt

3. Dave.0

Dave.0 Helix & RMW Powered
    Lifetime Supporter

May 4, 2009
    Burbs of Philly, PA
    Ratings:
    +14,644 / 10 / -4
    That's exactly what I try and tell the police officer but it does not work for 20 mph over.

:aureola::devil::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

4. Jason Montague

Jason Montague New Member