Engine Drivetrain 1st Gen Cooper S Mynes/ByteTroniK Remote tuning

Discussion in 'Tuning and Performance' started by Professor, Mar 1, 2013.

1. Professor

Professor New Member

May 4, 2009
    BMW / MINI tech
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +69 / 0 / -0
    #1 Professor, Mar 1, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
    Hello everyone! I wanted to take some time to make a thread detailing the experience I recently had with the team at Mynes and ByteTroniK. To start I want to express how much I really do not want this thread to turn into a tuner war. I know we all want to fight for what we have purchased and express our pleasure or displeasure, that’s what the internet and forums are for. So please take my experience for what it is, my honest opinion.

I am not stating my credentials to impress anyone, merely to show that I do have real world experience in diagnosing and fixing issues with BMW and MINI engine. I am a certified MINI Master tech trained by MINI USA up to the R60. I am aspiring to become a BMW Master tech and currently work for a small independent BMW and MINI service center, we fix cars. I stated this because everyday I monitor DME functions and signals to determine problems and the engines state of health. With that said I am not a tuner, I have zero experience tuning any car with anything other than “Canned†software such as JCW and Autologic.

I recently purchased ByteTroniK FA53-lite. FA53-lite is the package you purchase when you do not wish to have full access to tune your own DME. Again I am not a tuner and have big concerns that I would damage my engine with improper tuning. So I entrusted the team at Mynes to help me tune my R53 remotely. I contacted Mike and Mynes and he made sure I purchased or had everything I needed to be able to log DME functions and Air/Fuel ratios. Package arrived with everything I needed to get started.