Need advice soon

Discussion in '2nd Generation: 2007+ R55 through R61' started by Pat, May 16, 2018.

1. Pat

Pat New Member

May 16, 2018
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    hello! I’m new to the mini world done tons of work on them always desired one ( not on purpose but named my son cooper he had a melt down when I said I was getting a new Mini Cooper “why are you replacing your best son dad” he says to me lol ) finally found a nice one with a good body! It’s a 07 2nd gen r58 motor 118,000 miles on her he’s asking 5k but already got him saying he’ll drop the price so figure 4300-4500 ( good deal? )
    Is there anything I should look out for guys selling it due to buying a 350z says he’s got a p1497 replace valve cover still returns go figure.. no biggie not worried about codes or timing chains have the locking kit done dozens of them due to the weak guilds and faulty torque spec on the tensioner!

Main question is anything other then that to look out for so busy doing repairs on them never got to actually drive them long term and don’t have anyone local who owns one what’s most common things that go wrong with them??

I should note he says runs rough at idle but no power lose and had headgasket done water pump timing chains whole 9 yards showed me paper work think maybe gummed up valves or timing off a bit.

Thanks for your help will be try and help with problems been lead tech at my shop 12 years now we work on anything the has 4-6 wheels so I’ll keep my ear out for ya’ll

Pat

2. MCS02

MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2009
    Male
    Ratings:
    +7,891 / 10 / -3
    Hi and welcome to MA!
    They only made the R58 (coupe) from 2011-2015. Do you mean a R56 (cooper S)? If it is a 07S it has a N14 engine. The rough idle could be carbon build. If so it will need walnut blasting to clean it out. I thank if whoever did all that work couldn’t get the timing right I would wonder what els he did wrong.