Soon to be F55 owner

Discussion in 'Starting Line - New Member Introductions' started by Bobby D., May 27, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Bobby D.

Bobby D. New Member

May 27, 2015
    Retired Electrical Engineer
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Newbie here, waiting on delivery of a 2015 5 door non-S. I've been reading up on minis, and have a concern about direct injection. Does the 1.5 liter engine have a problem with carbon build up on the intake valves?

Bobby D.

2. MCS02

MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2009
    Male
    Ratings:
    +7,891 / 10 / -3
    Welcome to MA!

Cant help with the question but someone will be along that can.

3. Nathan

Nathan Founder

Mar 30, 2009
    Writer
    Short North
    Ratings:
    +10,069 / 0 / -0
    Welcome, thanks for joining Motoring Alliance, the FUN and Friendly MINI Community.

So far there haven't been issues with the new 3 cylinder that we've heard much about at all. It was the previous N14 that was problematic, the later N18 is better. Your's is different than those.

Your's is a BMW designed lump used in BMW's as well as MINIs. The previous generation used a Peugeot/BMW design.

4. Crashton

Crashton Club Coordinator

Jun 4, 2009
    Retired old fart
    Hooterville Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +11,662 / 2 / -0
    Welcome...

It is early days for the 3 hole MINI engine. Many makes are having issues with carbon buildup in their direct injection engines. Hopefully MINI has fixed that issue, but if not it is just a service that you do. I wouldn't worry about it.

5. nxtMINI

nxtMINI Active Member

Apr 26, 2010
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to M/A!

^^ I agree with what they said about the engine :biggrin5:

6. mrntd

mrntd Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

Sep 30, 2011
    Male
    Sales and Marketing manager
    Hilliard, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +1,763 / 0 / -0
    Welcome Aboard!

7. Zapski

Zapski Well-Known Member

May 4, 2011