1st Gen R53 Cooper S Supercharger Screaming Problem

Discussion in '1st Generation: 2002–06 R50, R53 & 2004–08 R52' started by panaphobic, Nov 10, 2012.

1. panaphobic

panaphobic Club Coordinator

Jul 19, 2010
    Customer Support
    Tewksbury, MA
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    So I developed a weird problem today while I was driving around. I ran a few errands today. I took my girlfriend to get her eyebrows done after we ran some errands. My R53 was off and sitting for like 15 mins or so, about the same time my R53 had been sitting at our other stops. It wasn't running while I was waiting for her either. So we left and started driving and I gave it some medium throttle and heard a very weird sound. It literally sounded like some little kid screaming so I looked around and didn't see anyone, and then I turned the corner and gave it a medium throttle and I heard the sound again. I was like what the hell is making that sound. So I started playing with the throttle and noticed it was only when the TPS was reading above about 30. I have 2 videos of it. One is me driving showing the ScanGauge2 with the TPS sensor. The other is in the engine bay so you can hear the sound. The first video isn't as loud but the 2nd one is easily noticeable.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6tEPTY9HII]MINI Cooper supercharger screaming issue 1 - YouTube[/ame]

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpRzXhmZNkY]MINI Cooper supercharger screaming issue 2 - YouTube[/ame]