2nd Gen R60 Countryman A/C Clicking noise?

Discussion in '2nd Generation: 2007+ R55 through R61' started by frankthetank77, Jul 6, 2016.

  1. frankthetank77

    Aug 26, 2014
    65
    27
    18
    Marketing, graphic design, photography and video p
    Central California
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    So while driving with my A/C on I will hear a clicking noise coming from the lower console. I do feel the difference in power, which would tell me that it's the compressor turning on and off. But it doesn't stay on, but it does blow cold. I topped off my r134a this weekend and it still did it even though it did blow a little colder.

    Again, I feel the power loss/gain and it really make driving frustrating.

    Suggestions on what else it may be?
     
  2. Nathan

    Nathan Founder

    Mar 30, 2009
    25,144
    10,033
    113
    Writer
    Short North
    Ratings:
    +10,050 / 0 / -0
    AC Compressor Clutch on its way out maybe?
     
  3. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    10,750
    5,856
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +7,320 / 9 / -3
    Does it do it at idle?
     
  4. frankthetank77

    Aug 26, 2014
    65
    27
    18
    Marketing, graphic design, photography and video p
    Central California
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    Yup! Theory?
     
  5. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    10,750
    5,856
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +7,320 / 9 / -3
    Check to make sure you are getting constant power to the compressor clutch. If you are the electro magnet is going out. You can replace just that part. If it is not check the freon level if it is low it can cause the compressor to turn on and off. Once it is low enough it will not come on at all.
     
  6. frankthetank77

    Aug 26, 2014
    65
    27
    18
    Marketing, graphic design, photography and video p
    Central California
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    Thanks!

    I'll check, but how do I go about doing that? Also, I'll see if I can get it in to my mechanic to check the freon level.
     
  7. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    10,750
    5,856
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +7,320 / 9 / -3
    You can put a test light or meter on the wire. Check the freon level first. A quick way to check it would be to get a small can of R-134a that has a gage on it. start the car, turn the AC on and hook up the can and see if it is in the green arc on the gage. You can over fill a system so more is not always better. I don't know what the correct pressure is but usually if your within the full arc on the can you should be good. If it is low you have a leak. You can add some so you have cold air till you get it to a shop.
     
  8. frankthetank77

    Aug 26, 2014
    65
    27
    18
    Marketing, graphic design, photography and video p
    Central California
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    Went and had it looked at this morning and two things need to be taken care of: 1. about 1lb. low on freon and 2. the expansion valve needs to be replaced. $341.00 R/R and part. It's better than the compressor needing replacing, that's for sure. Heading to Palm Springs next Friday for the final day of MINI Takes the State and looking at the forecast it's going to be a hot one...110+. Not doing that without AC. Keeping my fingers crossed that that's all that needs to be done. Thanks for all your input!
     
  9. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    10,750
    5,856
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +7,320 / 9 / -3
    Glad you found the problem and glad you told us what the fix was
     

Share This Page