Interior 1st Gen Aftermarket Heated Seats

Discussion in 'Tuning and Performance' started by Ernesto, Nov 26, 2009.

1. Ernesto

Ernesto Club Coordinator

May 16, 2009
    Oracle DBA
    Skokie Ill
    Ratings:
    +674 / 0 / -0
    I was an idiot when I bought my 2002 Cooper. I had no idea how nice heated seats could be, and didn't order them when I bought my car. I've been regretting that choice for the past 7 years.

I finally decided to do something about it, and ordered a heated seat kit to be installed by a local auto interior shop, Covers and Interiors in Highland Park, Illinois. They did a fantastic job on the car. The switches are different than stock, but mounted in the stock location. The heat is wonderfull and I am very happy.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Dr Obnxs

Dr Obnxs New Member

Jun 11, 2009
    A Man of Wit and Charm! (Just ask my wife!)
    Woodside, CA, up in the hills and trees.
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Way cool!

FES has a customer that used an Auto Sportplus to control some aftermarket seat covers with heaters. The accessory control was used with a high current relay module in an R56.

Anyway, cool install. Thanks for sharing.

Matt

3. Steve

Steve Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator

Apr 23, 2009
    Maryland, USA
    Ratings:
    +3,166 / 0 / -0
    Yep, very cool. I like the clever Auto Sportplus idea as well.

Are the heater themselves inserted into the seat or are they separate as part of a set of covers?

4. Ernesto

Ernesto Club Coordinator

May 16, 2009
    Oracle DBA
    Skokie Ill
    Ratings:
    +674 / 0 / -0
    The heating elements for the seat and back go inside the seats, so they had to open the seats up and glue in the elements and also wire things up. My seats look exactly as they did before.

5. Steve

Steve Administrator

Apr 23, 2009
    Maryland, USA
    Ratings:
    +3,166 / 0 / -0