Engine Drivetrain 1st Gen Cooper S Any tips for installing a tight belt?

Discussion in 'Tuning and Performance' started by ke4sfq, Oct 12, 2013.

1. ke4sfq

ke4sfq Member

Aug 3, 2009
    Technology Coordinator for a School District
    Florence, AL
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    #1 ke4sfq, Oct 12, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2013
    I've changed a lot on my car but this is my first time actually changing the belt. Doing it while putting on a new crank pulley. Its crazy tight and looking for any words of wisdom from you MINI experts about the best way to do this, last pulley to wrap around, etc.

Its a NAPA #060535 belt, the same that came off and its a 15% SC pulley. Standard ATI crank pulley just installed, not the 2% one. I have read on other posts that 60535 belt is tight and I agree!

In Picture: Doing the crank pulley last, this is all the slack I have pulled tight and the tension pulley is pulled up with a pin in the 2nd hole. I've been trying to pry some with screwdrivers but can't get it much further than the picture. Any ideas I'm missing?

[​IMG]
    MINI Belt by KE4SFQ, on Flickr

2. Rawhyde

Rawhyde Active Member

Apr 7, 2012
    Facilities Engineer
    Mountains of NW Georgia
    Ratings:
    +233 / 0 / -0
    Are you certain that your belt is all the way down in all the other pulleys? If it's not fully seated in one, you will have this type trouble. Make sure to double check your belt routing.

O'Reilly's usually has the right belt under the Gates brand if it turns out that your belt is too short or mismarked. Did you compare the old belt to the new one before trying to install it?

3. ke4sfq

ke4sfq Member

Aug 3, 2009
    Florence, AL
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0