1st Gen R53 Cooper S Belt Bypass the Supercharger?

Discussion in '1st Generation: 2002–06 R50, R53 & 2004–08 R52' started by matchframe, May 8, 2012.

1. matchframe

matchframe Member

Aug 3, 2009
    Video Tech for Boeing at NASA Houston
    Dickinson, Texas
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My son has a 2006 Mini Cooper S. He lives in Dallas right now and I am near Galveston, about 4.5 hours away. He does not know his way around engines, but I have a lot of experience with engines. If interested, here is a link to my car projects website: www.bigdoggarage.com

With that as a background, here is his situation: He lost the belt on the Mini so I had him go to a local Firestone to have someone check it out. That way I could have a good idea of what is going on. I talked with the mechanic at Firestone and he told me the supercharger has gone bad and that is why it threw the belt. He wanted $2,700 just for the replacement supercharger not counting the labor, ... etc. I am always skeptical until I can see the the bad parts in person. I paid him for the time he spent on it and had my son drive the Mini back to his apartment just a few miles away.

I will be driving to Dallas tomorrow to determine that the charger is in fact bad and go from there. I may trailer the Mini back to my house near Galveston to fix it.

Here is my question, if I put a smaller belt that by passes the supercharger, first will it run and will it run well enough for daily driving? If so, do I buy a belt for a non-supercharged Mini?

Second question where can I buy a supercharger for less than what the Mini dealer wants? I don't mind rebuilt ones as long as they are done right.

Thanks!!:Thumbsup:

2. jeffster06

jeffster06 Active Member

Apr 23, 2010
    Dallas, GA
    Ratings:
    +111 / 0 / -0