1st Gen R53 Cooper S CAI - paper element

Discussion in '1st Generation: 2002–06 R50, R53 & 2004–08 R52' started by javelina1, Oct 17, 2010.

Tags:
  1. javelina1

javelina1 New Member

Oct 17, 2010
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Group,

I'm new to M/A, and looking forward to contributing and not just lurking. :D

I'm not a big fan of foam or oiled cloth. I like paper elements. Was just wondering if there's a CAI that uses throw away paper elements? (Something besides the stock or JCW solution).

anyone aware of a CAI as such? (not stock, nor JCW, nor something that uses foam or oiled cloth). :)

TIA,

-Jav

2. Justa Jim

Justa Jim Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Supporter

May 6, 2009
    Ratings:
    +1,685 / 0 / -0
    I'm afraid I do not, but the paper ones look restrictive to me compared to the others. What are your concerns about the other type?

Jim

3. INIMINI

INIMINI New Member

Apr 22, 2010
    Logistics & Administration
    Jersey City
    Ratings:
    +103 / 0 / -0
    MINI uses Paper Element (Stock).

4. javelina1

javelina1 New Member

Oct 17, 2010
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I feel that paper does an excellent job, and I really don't mind throwing away an element every 10 or 15K miles. My gut tells me that a less restrictive, oiled element will let larger micron's through.

I know there are studies out there to support whatever CAI it's focused on. Not trying to incite a CAI thread. :) If folks like the cotton or foam, more power to them.

I was just wondering if there was paper option out there, (beyond stock and the JCW). Like a cone paper, to increase a bit more the air flow, but yet still retained the paper elements superb filtering capabilities. As noted, I'd be willing to throw it away for a new paper element, per a prescribe replacement schedule.

thanks for responding Jim.

-Jav

5. javelina1

javelina1 New Member

Oct 17, 2010
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0