Pre Migration Can't log in via desktop

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by TATTRAT, Nov 15, 2017.

  1. TATTRAT

    TATTRAT Active Member

    Oct 10, 2010
    349
    46
    28
    Executive Chef
    NoVA/DC
    Was replying to a pm, hit send and the site timed out. Tried refreshing and was given a forbidden message 403 something or another.

    Have deleted cookie and cleared cache and still can't connect, it keeps timing out.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    That’s interesting, so you can login via mobile.. (assuming that is how you are doing this) but PC isn’t working. I just tried my PC (Windows and MAC).. didn’t have any issues. Do you have 2 browsers on your machine? For example Chrome and the native OS (Explorer or Saphari?)
     
  3. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    Can you reproduce the issue? If so, copy the URL of the 403 issue.. essentially 403 is a generic code. There are different ways to try and reproduce.. one is to look at the URL.
     
  4. TATTRAT

    TATTRAT Active Member

    Oct 10, 2010
    349
    46
    28
    Executive Chef
    NoVA/DC
    Posting over 4g on note8.

    Tried Firefox and explorer, I usually use Chrome. No dice in any browser.

    Worth noting: just tried posting over wifi and got the error message / site timed out.
     
  5. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    Hmm. Are other sites working? The site is loading fine where I'm at (ATL). I'm looking in the logs now.. to see if I can find anything.
     
  6. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    I assume the site is being responsive from your phone?
     
  7. TATTRAT

    TATTRAT Active Member

    Oct 10, 2010
    349
    46
    28
    Executive Chef
    NoVA/DC
    www.motoringalliance.com/forums/

    Nothing hinky there
     
  8. TATTRAT

    TATTRAT Active Member

    Oct 10, 2010
    349
    46
    28
    Executive Chef
    NoVA/DC
    Fine on mobile.
     
  9. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    Are other sites from you PC having problems? Do you mind trying again from your PC?
     
  10. TATTRAT

    TATTRAT Active Member

    Oct 10, 2010
    349
    46
    28
    Executive Chef
    NoVA/DC
    Everything else is fine.

    Just tried again from pc, no dice. I took a pic with phone and tried to upload through the advanced dashboard but it failed twice.

    This site can't be reached
    Www.motoringalliance.com took too long to respond.

    Err_connection_timed_out

    I've checked my firewall settings and router settings, nothing has been accidentally blocked.
     
  11. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    Assume your mobile is going over cell network. If that is the case, your WiFi and connected would be going over the same network.
     
  12. TATTRAT

    TATTRAT Active Member

    Oct 10, 2010
    349
    46
    28
    Executive Chef
    NoVA/DC
    Ran windows network diagnostics


    Problems found:
    Your computer appears to be correctly configured, but the device detected or resource (www.motoringalliance.com) is not responding
     
  13. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    Testing uploading image...
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    I want to say its the network your PC is attached to. Since we are having this discussion on the site that isn’t responding.. makes me feel like its something to do with your network.. I’m not seeing anything in the logs etc and other post are flowing through.. let me look into it some more.
     
  15. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    OK - this is odd that other sites are not working. I’ve now had other members try and they are not seeing the issue (at least the ones I talked with).. can we try the following:
    1) re-boot the computer - then try the site again. If doesn’t work
    2) re-boot router

    Can we try those (or have you already)? Also looks like you are using Win 10. I just tried it on mine with chrome, Firefox, explorer.. those worked.
     
  16. Steve

    Steve Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator

    Apr 23, 2009
    12,156
    3,162
    113
    Maryland, USA
    Not seeing any issue here.
     
  17. Dave.0

    Dave.0 Helix & RMW Powered
    Lifetime Supporter

    May 4, 2009
    21,571
    11,540
    113
    Burbs of Philly, PA
    Same here, no problems.

    It’s the users Pc, network / router / or ISP.
     
  18. Sully

    Sully Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 21, 2015
    1,127
    316
    83
    Software
    30350
    TATTRAT - Thinking through this with the help of Steve :)

    So you were on the site and all was working fine. Then you tried to send a PM and it timed out.. since then that PC has not been able to connect. I would suggest the above reboot stuff.. however can you send a PM from your phone? I.e. that was the trigger it sounds like.
     
  19. TATTRAT

    TATTRAT Active Member

    Oct 10, 2010
    349
    46
    28
    Executive Chef
    NoVA/DC
    Have done all of the above and still no dice.
    I'll try again once I get back home tonight.

    Sully, I was replying to a pm and yes, that's when it went wonky.

    The past few weeks I've gotten error messages on a couple of occasions, but it would work out with a fefresh of the page. Not timing out, just 404 type messages.
     

Share This Page