2nd Gen R56 Cooper S Carbon-build-up? HPFP? Or both?

Discussion in '2nd Generation: 2007+ R55 through R61' started by Lilliput, Jul 18, 2011.

1. Lilliput

Lilliput New Member

Jul 18, 2011
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    #1 Lilliput, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
    Hi all, I am a noob so please be patient! :wink: Brought my 2007 MCS (manual) in for service two weeks ago due to cold start issues - coughing, stalling, etc., the usual symptoms. I told the dealership that I suspected a failing HPFP and/or carbon fouling, and asked them to please check for both. They informed me that it was due to a bad bypass blow-off valve (I have no idea what that even is). I paid for the fix, drove her home, and lo and behold next morning she wouldn't start at all. Towed back to dealer. Asked them AGAIN to check the pump and also for carbon build-up. FINALLY replaced the pump under BMW's extended warranty, but they refused to check for carbon. Said it would not be worth their time(!). Ugh...:crazy: When I contacted the Sales Manager he basically called me a liar, saying that I had never asked the SA to do those things.

My question is this: what do I do if the car starts showing symptoms of the dreaded build-up down the road? She seems to work ok now, but I don't want to go back to this dealership because they were so disrespectful to me and frankly, I don't believe a word they tell me anymore. Does anyone know if MINI USA has offered to cover the cost of cleaning the head (I know it's a lengthy and pricy operation), because it seems to be a design issue?

p.s. I use top-tier gas - hi-octane, not less than 8% or more than 10% ethanol, with adequate detergency. Also I drive approx. 60 miles a day, some of those on speedy highways.

Thanks in advance for your help!!

Lilliput

2. Lilliput

Lilliput New Member

Jul 18, 2011
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0