Engine Drivetrain 1st Gen Cooper S Custom Head Build

Discussion in 'Tuning and Performance' started by tommy_zito, Aug 30, 2009.

Tags:
  1. tommy_zito

tommy_zito New Member

May 18, 2009
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hey guys,

Ok so i have acquired a factory head this weekend, and am planning a build on it. I'd love some of the people that have done this before to chime in here. My plan thus far is port & polish, larger valves, (spings maybe) and a different cam. Suggestions are more then welcome being this is my first attempt at something like this. here are some pictures of what im working with thus far.
    iPhoneUpload-1.jpg iPhoneUpload-2.jpg iPhoneUpload-3.jpg iPhoneUpload-4.jpg

2. Nathan

Nathan Founder

Mar 30, 2009
    Writer
    Short North
    Ratings:
    +10,069 / 0 / -0
    What work are you planning to do yourself and what will be farmed out?

3. k-huevo

k-huevo Club Coordinator

May 6, 2009
    Pipe Creek, Texas
    Ratings:
    +159 / 0 / -0
    #3 k-huevo, Aug 31, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2010
    Here is a question you asked on another forum, but I would be limited in my reponse to it over there.
    The cam suggestion would depend on intended use, a Crower/NS1 for a primarily daily driver, an NS2 for track use and/or huge valve head at high rpm use. For valves and valve guides Endyn. Endyn’s valve guides are precision made for Endyn valves at exacting tolerances beyond industry standards. For very large valves you will need custom valve seats. Stock springs can be used with the NS1 cam, and aftermarket springs for the NS2 at very high rpm. Each spring should be tested and head worked, or springs replaced, to bring all springs within equal spec.