Discount Tire Pricing

Discussion in 'Mid-Ohio Motoring' started by Ronbo, Nov 6, 2014.

1. Ronbo

Ronbo New Member

Feb 10, 2013
    New Albany, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0 / -0
    It seems as though certain Discount Tire Stores are adding the shipping charges when doing a price match with Tire Rack. This happened this week while trying to purchse tires for the wife's ride. I have been doing business with them for over 10 years - 2 years in the Columbus area (3 sets of tires and one set of rims) and have never been charged for freight before. They said this was a new "store policy" ...since anything you purchase yourself from Tire Rack would include a shipping charge. I was also told that the tire I wanted was out of stock at the manufacturer and they couldn't get it anyway. They did have some tires in stock that would fit the car, of course more expensive. After a heated discussion with the assitant manager and manager, I promptly left the store. (Just a quick note, this store has just gone through a complete management change, not one face I recognized behind the counter).

Now don't get me wrong, I really like Discount Tire! In the past I have never had any pricing issues and there customer service has always been stellar. I phoned another store in the area and explained the situation to them. They said they would call me back. 10 minutes later I recieved a call telling me they found the tires at 2 different out of state store locations and would have them shipped in. They would would meet the Tire Rack pricing with no shipping charges and would even honor the MOM pricing for mounting and balancing.

Now this is the Discount Tire that I know and love! So i guess the moral of this story is make sure you've done your "due dilligence", don't get "bullied" and remeber the quote: "if their lips are moving they are lying".

2. wmwny

wmwny Well-Known Member

May 29, 2009
    Male
    Retired
    Piqua, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +2,790 / 10 / -0