TurbineMD New Member

Jan 14, 2012
    US Navy Chief
    Lake Stevens, WA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    :wink:
    Hello all,
    I am very much new to all things MINI. I am a Mechanic in the Navy for the last 20 years and just got my first MINI. I am a driver like most of you and choose MINI because of its driving dynamics. I have a Lightning Blue and Silver 2008 Cooper S Clubman and love it. I have installed exhausts on almost all of my cars including a nice cat back Borla on my 2001 F150 Lightning and and IPD Sport on my 1993 Volvo 940 Turbo Station Wagon. I do not like raspy coffee can mufflers as heard on many hondas and such and I am looking for something with a bit more grumble for my Clubman. Well, at least as much grumble as I can get for a 1.6 liter. Listening to online videos and clips its hard to tell what systems really sound best in person at idle, normal:wink: driving, and wide open. If anyone has some suggestions, please let me know. I appreciate the advice. I am also looking for clubs here in the PACNORWEST. It would be great to hear some different pipes in person. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

2. Redbeard

Redbeard JCW: because fast is fun!
    Supporting Member

Dec 17, 2009
    Glorified spreadsheet jockey.
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +413 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to M/A! Post pics when you get the chance.

As far as exhausts you will find that most (not all) won't be raspy because of the turbine. That tends to mute the high-rev "raspy-ness" that you get with 4-cyl N/A cars.

There are TONS of options out there. Most tend to be a smidge more expensive for the Clubby over the standard hatch.

Check these folks out:

WayMotorWorks R55 Exhausts

Detroit Tuned Exhausts

MINI Mania Exhausts

These are just three options. There are others out there.

3. JMC40

JMC40 Well-Known Member

Sep 1, 2010
    O...H...!!
    Ratings:
    +373 / 0 / -0
    #3 JMC40, Feb 21, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012