Harness Bar

Discussion in 'Track Days & HPDE's' started by MCS02, Mar 1, 2018.

  1. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,975
    5,397
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6,410 / 9 / -2
    Does anyone know who makes a harness bar for a R58? I would like to put a harness in the helmet but cant find a bar. Or if anyone knows of another method of installing a harness in one.
     
  2. Crashton

    Crashton Club Coordinator

    Jun 4, 2009
    18,895
    9,445
    113
    Retired old fart
    Hooterville Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +10,508 / 2 / -0
    Do you need a harness because you are going to track the coupe?
     
  3. Nathan

    Nathan Founder

    Mar 30, 2009
    25,144
    10,032
    113
    Writer
    Short North
    Ratings:
    +10,049 / 0 / -0
    Check with Sneed Speed. They do a lot with racing MINI's.
     
  4. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,975
    5,397
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6,410 / 9 / -2
    That is the plan! Porsche DE's I don't really need it but would like one.
     
  5. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,975
    5,397
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6,410 / 9 / -2
    Thanks I did not think of them. I have found one place that made one a few years back but they dont show a price for it so I don't know if they still sale it.
     
  6. ScottinBend

    ScottinBend Space Cowboy
    Supporting Member

    May 4, 2009
    8,712
    2,486
    113
    Bend, OR USA
    Ratings:
    +2,569 / 0 / -0
    Are you planning on a 5-6 point harness? If not, get the Schroth quick-fit harness. No bar req'd and still gives you the anti-submarine benefit.
     
  7. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,975
    5,397
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6,410 / 9 / -2
    I have looked at those but It wont work on a R58. There is no where to click them in. No back seat
     
  8. Crashton

    Crashton Club Coordinator

    Jun 4, 2009
    18,895
    9,445
    113
    Retired old fart
    Hooterville Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +10,508 / 2 / -0
    My 2 cents. In a car without a roll bar I'm not sure I'd be comfortable with a set of belts that strap me in so tight that in a roll my neck would become part of the roll-over structure. That's why I liked the Quick-fit belts.

    Since you can't use the Quick-fit belts & may need to fabricate a harness bar why not fab up a roll hoop? You could incorporate the harness bar & seat braces into it.

    PS: Don't cut up your Indian frame to get the required tubing. o_O
     
  9. ScottinBend

    ScottinBend Space Cowboy
    Supporting Member

    May 4, 2009
    8,712
    2,486
    113
    Bend, OR USA
    Ratings:
    +2,569 / 0 / -0
    oops.....missed that

    General consensus would be to have a roll bar with harness bar installed if you are serious but you do need to address the anti-submarine issue. All HPDE's run in my area req either a 5/6 point harness properly mounted, the Schroth system in approved cars, or the OEM 3 point.......no 4 points allowed.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  10. Crashton

    Crashton Club Coordinator

    Jun 4, 2009
    18,895
    9,445
    113
    Retired old fart
    Hooterville Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +10,508 / 2 / -0
    If using the stock 3 point belts I'd recommend using CG-Locks. They work very well.

    I feel doing the submarine is the lesser of the evils when it comes safety in a track-day MINI. In a formula car with a laid back seating position submarining is a real danger.

    Speaking of submarines I'm hungry time for a samich.
     
  11. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,975
    5,397
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6,410 / 9 / -2
    39FB4E9D-EE54-4625-8404-F963AE1289DE.jpeg @ScottinBend and @Crashton thanks for the input. I was look at a 4 point so maybe I should check and see if I can even use a 4 point. I did not think about rollover but I am not going to cut up the Indian. The Helmet has GC-locks I like them but wanted to have something to hold my upper body still. So well I don’t know. The seating position in the R58 is a lot different then my R53. You ars much more leaned back. Here is what I had found I still need to call the company. They make roll bars also.. the owner and his son are into drag racing. This bar bolts in.
     
  12. Crashton

    Crashton Club Coordinator

    Jun 4, 2009
    18,895
    9,445
    113
    Retired old fart
    Hooterville Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +10,508 / 2 / -0
    As long as you don't get a huge case of the red mist you won't need a roll bar.

    I've seen a couple of cars written off at track days. I don't think track days are very dangerous, but there is an element of danger & how one approaches their track day has a huge bearing on how things go.

    That harness bar looks well made. You could add a sub strap if you feel the need.

    I hope I'm not being confusing with my input.
     
  13. ScottinBend

    ScottinBend Space Cowboy
    Supporting Member

    May 4, 2009
    8,712
    2,486
    113
    Bend, OR USA
    Ratings:
    +2,569 / 0 / -0
    Broken parts can be the cause of some big shunts..........just ask Nathan about a wheel failure, remember? :Nailbiting:
     
  14. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,975
    5,397
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6,410 / 9 / -2
    No I am looking for this kind of help. I will probably do some autocross also. As far as the track days I don't plan on being hard core.Just have fun driving fast and learning how to driver better. If the bug bites the Runt will be turned into the track toy.
     
  15. KeithNeows

    KeithNeows New Member

    Mar 4, 2020
    2
    1
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    I have a 30" LED light bar, and factory fog lights. Ive removed my bumper cover, and its not going back on.

    So, for simplicity and ease, is there any reason I cant just wire this into the factory harness at the bumper? Im assuming I already have the appropriate relay and everything.
     
  16. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,975
    5,397
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6,410 / 9 / -2
    I believe that may work. Your not putting the bumper cover back on?
     

Share This Page