How to Destory a Thread ...was...The Truth About Valvesprings!

Discussion in 'Politics and other "Messy" Stuff' started by Dr Obnxs, Sep 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dr Obnxs

Dr Obnxs New Member

Jun 11, 2009
    A Man of Wit and Charm! (Just ask my wife!)
    Woodside, CA, up in the hills and trees.
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    #1 Dr Obnxs, Sep 21, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
    Over the last few months, there have been some discussions about valvesprings, much without data or hard information. So anyway, I thought I'd share and article and an offer to get the ball rolling here.

First some background. I'm a physicist, so I'll start from springs and masses. The point of a valve spring is to keep the valve following the cam profile throughout the RPM range of interest. Pretty simple, yes? So then why are springs rated at things like 80 lbs seat pressure closed, and 200+ lbs seat pressure open to just keep a little valve that weights at most a couple ounces where it's supposed to be? Don't those numbers sound excessive?

So, let's think about the valve train. There is a camshaft with it's lobes. There is some form of rocker that rides the lobes, pivots somewhere, and presses on the end of the valve. This is for overhead cams (standard V8s have lifters and pushrods, but the idea is the same). What pushes back on all this stuff to keep it from rattling is the valvespring. It sits on the top of the head, and is kept in place by the retainer and lock. So this spring has to be able to push all this hardware back against the cam lobe.