1st Gen R53 Cooper S How To: Replace Clutch Slave Cylinder

Discussion in '1st Generation: 2002–06 R50, R53 & 2004–08 R52' started by Nathan, Dec 1, 2009.

1. Nathan

Nathan Founder

Mar 30, 2009
    Writer
    Short North
    Ratings:
    +10,069 / 0 / -0
  2. agranger

agranger MINI of the Month June 2009
    Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2009
    Project Manager
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +1,863 / 2 / -0
    Thanks for the spelling help, Nathan... It has never been my strong suit!

I couldn't find a how-to on this process on any of the major MINI sites, so I threw it together and snapped some pics during the process. The duct tape idea is my own, so I'll take any kudos or beatings on that one! :D The 2x4 idea came from someone on NAM... one of the regularly helpful wrenches over there, but I can't remember who.

I am not a trained mechanic... I'm just handy with tools. If you have any thoughts or comments (especially on how to get a better bleed on the clutch), I'd love to hear 'em!

Aaron

3. alph78

alph78 New Member

May 7, 2013
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I found this while trying to find out some information on how to replace the slave cylinder. If it works correctly it could be a much easier and hassle free way of bleeding the system.

4. N2MINI

N2MINI MINI of the Month

Dec 4, 2009
    Sign Maker
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Ratings:
    +594 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for the write up. Always wondered how I was going to know if I needed it replaced and or worked on..Heard quite a few people talking about bleeding theirs over the years...

5. Jason Montague

Jason Montague New Member
    Lifetime Supporter

Jan 5, 2010
    Physician Assitant (retired)
    Sherman,Tx
    Ratings:
    +1,588 / 0 / -0
    :cornut: Thanks for the write up!:Thumbsup:

Jason

6. thesteve123

thesteve123 New Member

Feb 5, 2014
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0