Suspension Brakes Installing springs

Discussion in 'Tuning and Performance' started by leicaguy, Aug 23, 2010.

1. leicaguy

leicaguy New Member

Aug 22, 2010
    Medical Tech
    Catawba (near Roanoke), VA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I plan to get lowering springs for my 08 R56. Is this something I could handle in my home garage? In a former life (25 years ago) I was a factory trained Volvo mechanic so I have no worries about my mechanical capabilities. What I wonder about is any special tools, spring compressors, etc that is sometimes needed with spring installations. I don't want to get started just to find that I need some weird exotic tool.

2. Dr Obnxs

Dr Obnxs New Member

Jun 11, 2009
    A Man of Wit and Charm! (Just ask my wife!)
    Woodside, CA, up in the hills and trees.
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Easy job...

only thing you might need is a spring compressor. I did my stock removal with ratcheting tie down straps! If you want to do this, put them on the car when the suspension is compressed. They can hold the spring but not compress it.

Most aftermarket springs don't need much compression at all to install. They can often be done just by leaning into them and starting them off with an air wrench.

Matt

3. minimark

minimark Well-Known Member

Jun 24, 2009
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Ratings:
    +1,302 / 0 / -0
    Go down to your local Autozone and they'll rent You spring compressors for free, pay for them up front and upon an undamaged return, they happily refund your money.

4. leicaguy

leicaguy New Member

Aug 22, 2010
    Medical Tech
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks guys. Good tips.

Then, I assume I'll need a 4 wheel alignment, correct?

5. Dr Obnxs

Dr Obnxs New Member

Jun 11, 2009
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Yep...

one other thing to consider as you do what you're doing, is that it would be an excellent time to add in some fixed camber plates. Might want to think about that.

Matt