Question Engine R55 Clubman 100K+ Misfire at Idle Has me Stumped!

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by Rob-GA, Jun 1, 2022.

1. Rob-GA

Rob-GA New Member

Jun 1, 2022
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    #1 Rob-GA, Jun 1, 2022
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2022
    First time poster, so please go easy on me!

I have a lot of experience wrenching on BMWs and have now learned more than I probably want to about MINIs (but clearly not enough). I've got one now that truly has me stumped and I'm looking for some advice.

The subject is a 2009 Clubman with a 6MT and around 115K miles - base model with the N12. It came to me with a leaking thermostat housing, a fault code for the pre-cat O2 sensor, and the dreaded random multiple misfire. I replaced the t-stat and O2 sensor along with new coils/plug. That took care of the coolant leak and O2 sensor code, but the misfire is still there. It was very noticeable while I was running the engine to bleed the coolant and according to my scan tool, #3 is the worst offender. There are occasional misfires on #1 and sometimes #2, but #3 is by far the worst.

What's weird is that the misfire goes away when driving. When I watch the data stream with the engine idling, it's very obvious that #3 is badly misfiring, with only occasional misfires from #1 and #2. But as soon as I start driving, all misfire monitors drop to 0 and stay there until I stop and allow the engine to idle - then they come right back.

I suspected that I may have a lazy injector, so I swapped the entire set from another MINI that isn't having any drivability problems. It made to difference.

Then I thought that maybe, somehow, I got a defective plug/coil. So I swapped those from the other car. It made no difference. While I was at it, I unplugged the coil for #3 with the engine running and it ran even worse. So that seems to suggest that the plug for #3 is getting power and sparking.