How To No start

Discussion in '1st Generation: 2002–06 R50, R53 & 2004–08 R52' started by Michele, Apr 24, 2019.

  1. Michele

    Michele New Member

    Aug 26, 2018
    8
    1
    3
    Female
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    #1 Michele, Apr 24, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2019
    Got a 341 code used timing tool changed sensor twice ...now I'm fixing to put new battery.... (problem is turn over no start )..
    Help please
     
  2. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,352
    5,007
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5,587 / 5 / -0
    Could you give a little more info. Year, For non S, milage, any mods?
     
  3. Michele

    Michele New Member

    Aug 26, 2018
    8
    1
    3
    Female
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Sorry just saw post...
    No mods,manual 6 speed supercharged,
    2002
     
  4. wmwny

    wmwny Well-Known Member

    May 29, 2009
    3,543
    1,776
    113
    Retired
    Piqua, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +1,961 / 2 / -0
    mileage?
     
  5. Michele

    Michele New Member

    Aug 26, 2018
    8
    1
    3
    Female
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    320,000 roughly I'm not close to car at moment I've only had the car 2 years and out of the 2 years I've driven it one 1 year because last summer the sensor went out
     
  6. Dave.0

    Dave.0 Helix & RMW Powered
    Lifetime Supporter

    May 4, 2009
    23,537
    12,819
    113
    Burbs of Philly, PA
    Ratings:
    +13,450 / 4 / -4
    Well, if you don’t know much about cars I would take it to a dealership or a local MINI shop .
     
  7. Michele

    Michele New Member

    Aug 26, 2018
    8
    1
    3
    Female
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    I've personally been fixing this car myself can replace the camshaft sensor in just 30 minutes ,just has me baffled that the same code keeps coming up,,,I've changed the crankshaft sensor, oil pan gasket ,and the top gasket new coil,new plugs,new plug wires,new battery....thanks for the advice...i'll try a new forum
     
  8. Dave.0

    Dave.0 Helix & RMW Powered
    Lifetime Supporter

    May 4, 2009
    23,537
    12,819
    113
    Burbs of Philly, PA
    Ratings:
    +13,450 / 4 / -4
    Well, your posts lacked a lot of details. Try checking your main ground on the front passenger side. Also check the positive power post under the hood by the air intake. Both of those will cause your car to not start.
     
  9. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,352
    5,007
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5,587 / 5 / -0
    Is it turning over just not starting or not turning over at all? 320k lots of miles you must have taken good care of the car. Make sure nothing is locked up like a pulley, AC compressor, alternator, od supercharger. One guy her a few months ago had a alternator locked up causing a no stair problem.
    Is the timing cain and guides in good shape?
     
  10. Michele

    Michele New Member

    Aug 26, 2018
    8
    1
    3
    Female
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Just turns over ,,tried to start a couple of times,,,everything else seems fine,,,I did buy the timing tool and timed it to be sure of the timing
     
  11. wmwny

    wmwny Well-Known Member

    May 29, 2009
    3,543
    1,776
    113
    Retired
    Piqua, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +1,961 / 2 / -0
    We try to help in this forum, given the info we need to offer the help you want.

    Welcome to M/A, and good luck! :Thumbsup:
     
  12. Dave.0

    Dave.0 Helix & RMW Powered
    Lifetime Supporter

    May 4, 2009
    23,537
    12,819
    113
    Burbs of Philly, PA
    Ratings:
    +13,450 / 4 / -4
    Fuel pump fuse or OEM fuel pump failure
     
  13. 00Mini

    00Mini Well-Known Member

    Feb 24, 2013
    13,825
    607
    113
    Retired
    Ratings:
    +721 / 2 / -0
    If'n you had any wiring connections apart recently maybe that could be a place to check.
     
  14. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,352
    5,007
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5,587 / 5 / -0
    @Michele Ok if it is timed correctly and the chain and all is in good shape. I would pull a plug and make sure your getting spark. then I would check the fuel pressure, like Dave said it could be a bad pump or blown fuse. It could also be a clogged fuel filter. I changed mine on my 02 at around 160k and it was a mess. If you don't have a fuel pressure gage you can get cheep one at Harbor fright or we sale tools.

    Let us know what you find
     
  15. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,352
    5,007
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5,587 / 5 / -0
    Also check the plug on the sensor you changed. Make sure it is clean, in good shape and plugged in good. It could be the plastic peace that keeps the plug secure is broken or not engaging well, allowing the ends to slip apart. Check the length of the wire from the sensor as far as you can and make sure there is no brakes or chafing. I had an E30 BMW that the wire from the crank position sensor had chafed. some times the car ran fine some times it would not crank. It took forever to find it. Long funny story, I won't bore you with it.
     
  16. Michele

    Michele New Member

    Aug 26, 2018
    8
    1
    3
    Female
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for all the advice orderd another camshaft sensor (my 3rd) if this doesn't work ,then junk yard bound
     
  17. Michele

    Michele New Member

    Aug 26, 2018
    8
    1
    3
    Female
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Also fuel rail has great pressure, don't think it's a fuel peoblem....you guy's are great!
     
  18. MCS02

    MCS02 Moderator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,352
    5,007
    113
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5,587 / 5 / -0
    Let us know what you find
     

Share This Page