Rule of thumb for moving to R-comps?

Discussion in 'Track Days & HPDE's' started by BThayer23, May 24, 2011.

?

Street tires or R-compounds on the track?

1. street tires

6 vote(s)
    54.5%
  2. R-comps

5 vote(s)
    45.5%
  1. BThayer23

BThayer23 Well-Known Member

Jun 12, 2009
    Civil Engineer
    Durham, NC
    Ratings:
    +155 / 0 / -0
    So I just signed up for my 15th track weekend (30 days total on track) and am headed to CMP in early June. I bought a set of used lightweight wheels that I planned on using exclusively on the track last fall, and after some experience with the tires that came on them, I'm ready to junk that rubber. They're not as sticky as the Star Specs I've been running for the last 3 years, they take a long time to heat up, and they don't handle the heat as well as the Star Specs. I've been running in the B group at larger events and A group at smaller events for the last year (5 weekends), and it's getting to the point where a lot of people in my run group are on R-comps (and passing me!).

So for my next set of tires, should I get a set of Hankook R-S3's for the track, as I hear they handle the heat better, or should I step up to Nitto NT-01's? Is there a rule of thumb for moving to R-comps or just driver preference? I hear a lot of people say that R-comps cover up mistakes and hinder learning, but there's gotta be a point where it's okay to drive faster. Cost is also a factor - I'm not made of money. Thoughts?

2. grodenglaive

grodenglaive New Member

Apr 3, 2010
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0 / -0
    sounds like you're ready to move up to r-comp's. They will stand up to the beating better, so that will even out the cost some.
    Caveats: brakes will be working harder with the stickier rubber, so make sure they are up to the task. Street tires are safer since you are not going as fast and also tend to break away slower than r's when they lose grip.

3. Flynscot1772

Flynscot1772 New Member

May 22, 2009