Engine Drivetrain 2nd Gen S Slipping the clutch?

Discussion in 'Tuning and Performance' started by mrminimmel, Oct 21, 2011.

1. mrminimmel

mrminimmel New Member

Dec 5, 2010
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    I originally posted this elsewhere but thought I'd get more response if I started it new.
    What exactly is "slipping the clutch"
    I've been driving a clutch, off and on, since 1967 and I've never had a clutch issue. Now that I'm driving a Mini, that I bought used through a dealer, and I'm replacing the clutch with an OS Giken STR at my expense(the dealer says customer abuse). So my question is what is slipping the clutch?
    I autocross 1 or 2 times monthly and have expressed my amazement that what I do to the car is outside its ability to endure.
    I figure the previous owner needed lessons and never got them but I digress. Slipping the clutch is ????

2. SNEEEZY - Erika

SNEEEZY - Erika M/A Wrenchin' Babe!
    Lifetime Supporter

Sep 27, 2009
    Female
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0 / -0
    I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm not 100% accurate...but...to me:

Slipping the clutch is when you slowly release the clutch when shifting instead of "dumping the clutch" which is to quickly release the clutch.

Slipping = easing the clutch.

3. SNEEEZY - Erika

Lifetime Supporter

Sep 27, 2009
    Female
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0 / -0
    What year is your MINI? What was the mileage when you bought it?

4. mrminimmel

mrminimmel New Member

Dec 5, 2010
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    It's a 2010 and we bought it with 17,628 miles on it.

5. Minidave

Minidave Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Supporter

Dec 22, 2009
    Male
    Overland Park, Ks
    Ratings:
    +5,003 / 1 / -0
    Anytime the clutch is not fully engaged or fully released, it's slipping. So not only when you're engaging it to change gears or start from a stop, but just resting your toes on the pedal can be slipping it.

6. mrminimmel

mrminimmel New Member

Dec 5, 2010
    Ratings: