2nd Gen R60 Countryman To "S" or Not to "S"........ that is the question.

Discussion in '2nd Generation: 2007+ R55 through R61' started by Katxoxo, Apr 22, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Katxoxo

Katxoxo New Member

Apr 22, 2012
    Isle of Long (New York)
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hi all.

I am totally new to the Mini Cooper scene. Was convinced I would buy a Cooper Hardtop (non-S) but after seeing the Countryman....that is MY car!

I am in the process of deciding on a Countryman S or regular Countryman base (non-S).

I have been told by the salesperson that given its weight and added size/length, that I would regret going with a non-S model (he had previously encouraged me to buy a Hardtop without the S as he felt it wasn't necessary as the car -- he suggested -- had enough zip without it).

I would love to hear your opinions on the matter. As a little background, I am moving out of a 2005 Thunderbird (13-14 mpgs) and the impetus to buy a Mini is gas mileage, functionality and space. Additionally, had some misfortunes with pre-cancerous cells on my face from years of being a rag top gal......so having a convertible around is too much a temptation. Put all of that together with the high costs of fuel -- and I always loved the look of the Mini -- here I am.

Thanks in advance for your time, experience, advice -- and patience!

-Kathleen
    the Newbie!

2. goaljnky

goaljnky New Member

Apr 7, 2009
    LaLaLand, Left Coast, Overpopulated and Underfunde
    Ratings:
    +394 / 0 / -0
    The "reasoning" used by sales people to talk a customer into this, or that car has always amused me. I would say go S, but I am all about the horse power. Certainly not something you will be able to add later.

3. Rawhyde

Rawhyde Active Member

Apr 7, 2012
    Facilities Engineer
    Mountains of NW Georgia
    Ratings:
    +233 / 0 / -0