2nd Gen R56 Cooper S Too Many problems at only 28000! Mini 2010 S Convertible

Discussion in '2nd Generation: 2007+ R55 through R61' started by JackieC, Apr 1, 2013.

1. JackieC

JackieC New Member

Apr 1, 2013
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I am new at this so please excuse any blatant errors. My Mini at only 28000 milles has already had both the front and rear brakes replaced but, more importantly has had short that required the battery replaced and left me stranded. Also, and this is my greatest problem, the Turbo blew up at 26500.
    Of course all of this was under warranty but I am wondering if I should keep this car. Is this going to continue when there is no warranty?
    I feel like this particular car could be a lemon.
    Your thoughts, please.

2. N2MINI

N2MINI MINI of the Month

Dec 4, 2009
    Sign Maker
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Ratings:
    +594 / 0 / -0
    I'd be trading before warranty runs out. And or try to get MINI USA involved.

3. Nathan

Nathan Founder

Mar 30, 2009
    Writer
    Short North
    Ratings:
    +10,069 / 0 / -0
    Welcome, thanks for joining Motoring Alliance, the FUN and Friendly MINI Community.

Brakes life is a function of driving style. If you are in traffic a lot you use the brakes a lot and they get used. Combine this with the soft pads MINI uses to enhance the braking performance and you can run into low life situations.

The short is odd.

The bad turbo is not so odd. Did they mention a cause? MINIs need more than the oil change interval that the factory recommended for a 2010. They reduced the 15,000 mile interval to 10 or 12,000 on newer models, I forget the exact number. These cars use oil too, the levels need to be checked often.

It is quite possible that with some more aggressive maintenance than the factory recommends all will be fine for quite some time.

4. JackieC

JackieC New Member

Apr 1, 2013
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0