Tool for removing LCA bushings.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by M1N1, Apr 15, 2015.

1. M1N1

M1N1 Well-Known Member

Jan 5, 2014
    Tool and Die Maker
    NW Ohio
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    #1 M1N1, Apr 15, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2015
    Tool for removing LCA bushings on the car.

I decided to try and design/make a tool to remove and replace the LCA bushings on my Justa without having to take the carriers off the car.

Before anyone says it, yes I know that there are tools available commercially on the interweb to do this. But where is the fun in that? I am a journeyman tool and die maker, I make things like this for a living. This works on an old, tried and tested engineering principle used by die makers/maintenance/millwrights/machine repairers for years to remove bushings or bearings without having to tear everything apart. I have myself fabricated tools like this ( on smaller scale) to remove stubborn buttons from a die.

I purchased 2 carriers off of a wrecked R53 from M/A member maurodog to take measurements, and formulate a design. I have the students edition of Autocad on my laptop, so I started drawing.

Part A is an end cap made from HRS, threaded thru the centre, and 25 thousandths smaller in diameter than the bushing to be removed. This allows the end cap to pull the bushing into the body (part B).
    Part B is the body, that is basically a tube. The inside diameter is about 20 thousandths bigger than the bushing, so that the bushing can be pulled into the body. The outside diameter is about the same size as the carrier. The body also provides support for the end cap (part C).
    Part C is an end cap that gives a basis to provide the force to pull the bushing. The outside diameter is the same as the body. It also has a smaller diameter step that is the same as the inner dia of the body, which centres everything. It has a clearance thru the centre for the threaded bar.