Most liked posts in thread: Vets Help Me understand

1. Steve

Steve Administrator
    Staff Member Articles Moderator

Apr 23, 2009
    Maryland, USA
    Ratings:
    +3,166 / 0 / -0
    I'm a vet and I'd point out that they're covering a lot of ground in that article...and I'm about to pile on...sorry for that. My impression is someone is trying really hard to think of every possible reason someone might struggle with accepting gratitude. I don't think these are attitudes felt by most and it's possible there are deeper issues these guys either don't understand yet or they understand but don't want to admit (my attempt to give them the benefit of doubt).

I have a bit of an internal struggle with it myself but I think for many of us it's just a result of humility.

But there's yet another side that also seems a bit less self-centered than anything I read in that article. For some, it's hard to accept praise when you feel guilty. Imagine if you walked away, relatively unharmed physically from a situation (or situations) like that guy in the "Battle of the Unmarked Compound". You know people who were much less lucky. You may have even watched them being killed despite your best efforts. I wish I didn't feel the need to invoke the "you don't know, man, you weren't there" mentality but it's hard to explain how that feels. Even harder to explain how close and tight you may have been with those you couldn't help, it can be a real brothers in arms thing and that, also, is hard to understand. Imagine the potential guilt of being the survivor. Now can you imagine how it might feel when someone treats you like you're the hero? Oddly enough, your brain can make that leap when someone does something as innocuous as thanking you for your service.